This pretty little village is part of the Chatsworth estate.  Originally the village was close to the River Derwent, immediately below Chatsworth. However in the mid 1800’s the 6th Duke of Devonshire had it moved out of sight over a hill, apart from one cottage whose tenant did not want to move (which still stands in Chatsworth Park).

It is a charming little village with every one of its small houses of a different architectural design. There is a tea room there too.